cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Elene_van_Sandw
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi,

I’m new to Airtable and I’m trying to use it to organise and track content development. So in Phase 1 I will create the following columns:
Section ID (number)
Lesson ID (number)
Unit ID (number)
Section Title (text)
Lesson Name (text)
Unit Name (text)
Learning outcome (text)
I want all of these to appear in other tables and automatically update if I change something in the first table. So if I change the name of the Unit it will update in all other tables that it’s linked to.

In the other tables I will add columns for Writer/Editor/Budget/Deadline etc. The Deadline and Budget also has to update. Any suggestions how I can do this please?
Thanks!

5 Replies 5

Welcome to Airtable!

It’s hard to give specific steps without knowing your application in more detail, but in general you’ll be making use of linked records. If the fields you mentioned are in your main table, and your secondary tables are linked to the main, you’ll use lookup and rollup fields to access those values by reference. You can also use lookup and rollup fields in your primary table to retrieve values from other linked tables.

Values accessed by reference can be used in calculations in the retrieving table — that is, a formula field in a secondary table can incorporate a value looked up from the primary table in one of its formulas — but the results of that calculation cannot be used to change the value of the original field, as that could represent a circular reference.