Help

Automation triggers new record to be created, but what about record updates?

1892 9
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jazmyn_Beauchan
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hello!

Im an airtable newbie with very light coding experience. Having several challenges setting up the bases for my team, but there’s one in particular that I cant seem to figure out.

I’ve created an automation that triggers record B to be created on table B whenever a new record (record A) enters the view on table A.
Table B’s purpose is to aggregate information from table A and table C and provide a top level view of many different scheduled communications. The problem that I have now, however, is that whenever there are updates to record A or C—like a date change, for example—the updates arent passed along to record B. I tried to create an automation triggered when record A is updated, but am unable to link it to record B.
Are any of the below possible through a script or automation?
1- when record A is updated, the now outdated, record B is deleted and a new, updated, record B is created
2- when record A is updated a new record B is created, script runs to remove older record by searching for duplicated names
3- when record A is updated, record B is updated

Any help or insight is appreciated!

9 Replies 9

Welcome to the Airtable community!

I’d go with option 3 and no coding.

Link the two tables with linked record fields. When you create a record in table B, link it to the triggering record in table A. This will create a backlink in record A, so that record A now knows the record id of the corresponding record in table B. Then when record A is updated, use the record id in the linked record field to identify the record in table B that also needs updating. No scripting required.

You don’t provide enough information about the records in table C to determine how to push updates from table C to table B, but it can probably be done with scripting.