Help

Best way to have a base-wide 'constant' variable?

6051 4
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Michael_Norris
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

Hi there

I’m a beginner to Airtable, but am impressed by the promise of it. To start with, I’m seeing if I can use Airtable to help my event management. Every event has more or less the same list of to-do items, but of course the due dates change depending on one single constant: the date of the event itself.

So I’m trying to set up an Airbase base that includes a bunch of to-dos with a ‘weeks before event’ column (e.g. 4 would mean 4 weeks before the event date), and then another column that calculates the actual due date using DATEADD.

But what’s the most elegant way to define this event date as a constant across the whole base? My current solution, that feels a little clunky, is to define an ‘Event information’ table, which includes the date of the event itself. In the ‘To do items’ table, I then include a column with a Lookup in it, to get the event date from the other table. This column is then used by the DATEADD formula column to work out the To do item’s due date.

Is that the best way to do it, or am I missing something? The main drawback of this method is that whenever I create a new to do item, I have to remember to populate the Event Date column of that record, because Airtable doesn’t currently have an autopopulate function.

It would be more elegant if I could simply include a link to the event date in the ‘Event information’ table as part of the formula, without having to use a Lookup column in the original table, but I can’t see any way to do that.

Thoughts?

4 Replies 4
HammerOz
7 - App Architect
7 - App Architect

Hi

"The main drawback of this method is that whenever I create a new to do item, I have to remember to populate the Event Date column of that record, because Airtable doesn’t currently have an autopopulate function.”