Help

Button API Script - how to populate self-linked fields?

Topic Labels: Scripting extentions
Solved
Jump to Solution
1290 3
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Tyrel_Froese1
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi all,

I’ve been using Airtable for a few years and have finally decided to try my hand at writing a few scripts to streamline our workflow. I’ve coded a fair amount before but am new to JavaScript, so please excuse my ignorance.

My current project is writing a script that will be called from a button field. This script will make a request to a taxonomic database, retrieve classification data for a single creature, and populate a series of self-linked columns within the table. I have a working script that gathers the data and reformats, but I’m stumbling across the last step of assigning data to the linked fields. Throws this error after the last line:

Can’t set cell values: invalid cell value for field ‘kingdom’.
Cell value has invalid format: must be an array.
Linked records field value must be an array of objects with property ‘id’ corresponding to linked record id.

I understand that the issue has to do with needing the data to be formatted as an array for linked fields, but I’m afraid I don’t understand JavaScript well enough to fully grasp how to do that, especially for linked fields within the same table. Any advice would be appreciated!

Dummy code:

const API_KEY = 'API Key'
let table = base.getTable("Table")
let record = await input.recordAsync('Pick a record', table)

let url = record.getCellValue("url_field")

const response = await fetch(url);
const data = await response.json();

function unnestWormResponse(aphia, accumulator = {}) {
  if (!aphia) return;
  accumulator[aphia.rank] = aphia.scientificname;
  unnestWormResponse(aphia.child, accumulator);
  return accumulator;
}

const output_data = unnestWormResponse(data);

var empty = {
  kingdom: "",
  phylum: "",
  class: "",
  order: "",
  family: "",