Help

Can Automatons be Triggered by Date Comparison without a Record Updates?

2252 15
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Brian_Hendel
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi! Newbie here! Loving AT to far.

I want to automatically notify my sales team 2 days before a trial is set to expire, so I have a TRIAL START DATE date field, and a DAYS LEFT IN TRIAL formula that does a DATEADD and DATEDIFF to get a days count, that counts from 30 down to zero. That is, your 30-day trial starts today, and every day when I log in to Airtable, I expect the DAYS LEFT IN TRIAL to decrement by one. This all works fine.

My question is, can I create an Automation trigger, based on this DAYS LEFT IN TRIAL, checking for when it reaches 0, and initiates the automation? Note that no actual “update event” happens anywhere in the DB. This is just day by day passage of time. I am worried that the developers of AT would require some kind of database update / change for triggers to get calculated.

Thanks! : )

15 Replies 15

Welcome to the Airtable community!

Yes, an automation can be run based on a date comparison without a record update. Use the when record meets conditions trigger. Your {DAYS LEFT IN TRIAL} formula field probably includes either the TODAY() function or the NOW() function. Although these functions do not update continuously, but they do update periodically even when you are not logged in–most users experience a lag of 5-15 minutes between updates of NOW().

Note that these functions are based on GMT time, if your users are in a significantly different timezone, your users might experience the dates reaching zero at a different time of day than you expect.

Airtable has now published how often the NOW() function updates in this support article.

@ScottWorld, @Justin_Barrett