cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jennifer_Robin1
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi all,

I’m fairly new to airtable, but loving it so far. I manage a program that requires property inspections and reporting on conditions. I’m using Airtable for tracking the properties and various related aspects (contacts, etc).

I just discovered the “color by condition” option, and though that would help give me a quick overview of my inspection statuses. So, i thought setting up conditions for properties inspected within the past year, 18 mo, and 2 years would work. But, this only seems to work for those exact number of days, and I thought I was going to be getting something more like “within the past 365 days”

Thoughts on how I should modify my conditions, or if there’s another functionality I should be using entirely?

Thanks!

6 Replies 6

Welcome to the community, @Jennifer_Robinson! :grinning_face_with_big_eyes: You should be able to get things set up as you wish. Here’s how I set up a quick test:

Screen Shot 2019-12-31 at 2.20.18 PM

Jennifer_Robin1
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Thanks so much @Justin_Barrett… this helped a lot!

Jennifer_Robin1
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

OK, now i have one more question related to this. I was looking for a way to summarize these color coded fields on another table. I think I can use the rollup function, but I can’t select the parameters I used for the color coding that I can tell. I tried following the instructions at the “Conditional Rollups” page of the help section but I’m missing some step it seems. Is what I’m trying to do possible?

Correct. Rollups only collect the raw data, ignoring display extras like record coloring, grouping, etc.

What you’re trying to do is probably possible. When you say you want to summarize those color-coded fields, do you simply want a count of each color group? Or do you want a different kind of summary? I couldn’t quite tell from your description.