cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
tki
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Dear Airtable community,
I am not really technical and just discovered Airtable. I tried to research the forum, FAQ’s, documentation etc, but probably I am searching/ looking out for the wrong search terms or alike. So, if sth similar already happened, please don’t burn me to harsh, much appreciated :winking_face:

The task I try to achieve: I want to set up a little helper for me and my customers to order the correct way from my catalogue of hand made jewelry. For this, developing a proper and scalable/ appropriate item code methodology is key.

Example: I produce a ring from either silver, white gold, yellow gold or platinum as the main material. this could be extended with up to 2 inlays from e.g. clear, blue, red or green glass, 1-3 gemstones in white, green or blue and be ordered in sizes from 50 to 60.
So my internal order Code for a Silver ring with blue and red inlays, 1 white gemstone in size 52 would e.g. be SI-B-R-1W-52 (in reality, this list is more extensive :winking_face: ).

Can I somehow build a rule which creates the part number/ order code automatically from e.g. single-choice drop downs for the different properties? I tried IF formulas, and looked into rollup fields, but I just can’t figure it out.

Thanks a lot in advance for looking into this and ideally pointing me into the right direction if this would be achievable.
Best Regards,

tki

5 Replies 5
Matt_Bush
Airtable Employee
Airtable Employee

To combine different field names into one, you’ll want to use the concatenation operator (&). Examples here: https://support.airtable.com/hc/en-us/articles/215436738-Using-a-formula-in-the-primary-field

To translate from a single select field into a corresponding code, you can use nested IF formulas. Examples here: https://support.airtable.com/hc/en-us/articles/221564887-Nested-IF-formulas

Hey there,