5617 10
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
claire_moore
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

I am new to airtable, and so far I have created a workspace that lists the different events (sectioned by type) our company offers and the different locations at which they are held. I now want to be able to book a client on to an event by selecting the event type or location to retrieve a list of dates when that event will take place, so they can select the one they want to attend. I cannot see any templates or demos that use a similar example. Is it possible? Do I need to upgrade from the free version? Do I need to use a 3rd party app to make it work?

Thank you

10 Replies 10

I made a little example base based on what I think you were asking.

The Events table contains all of your events, and these are linked to the Event Type and Event Location tables. When creating an Event, you would enter the date and then choose the Event Type and Event Location.

The important column in the Events table is the Date + Location (and Date + Type) column. This concatenates the event name, date and location into a single string that will be used in the Event Types table. Notice the “\n” that is included at the end of the formula. This will create a line break so that the different events will appear in a formatted list rather than a single line when rolled up in the Event Types table.

In the Event Types table we have a column called Event Date + Location. This is a Roll Up field that rolls up all of the Date + Location data. We use the CONCATENATE function to roll them up into a single string. This is where the “\n” comes in, creating a single string with line breaks.

The Event Locations table works the same as the Event Types table.