Help

Help me query(?) my meal planner for ingredients needed this week?

1384 6
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
matt_kirkland
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi! I’m new to airtable and trying to use it to do some menu planning. Here’s what I have so far! https://airtable.com/invite/l?inviteId=invN8vHUKqsBc8OUu&inviteToken=cb4825266bf6ec64751c488bc851829...

I have a table of Meals, which is going to be my list of all possible meals I like to have in rotation.

I have a table for Ingredients, which is stuff I use to make meals. Meals have many ingredients, ingredients can belong to many meals. Ingredients also are linked to specific Grocery Stores where I like to buy those ingredients.

I have a table for Grocery Stores.

And last, I have a table for ‘this week’ (here Week 39), where I select WHICH meals to have this week.

Here’s a screenshot of those:
airtable-tabs.png

What I would LIKE TO do is to query this somehow to create a report that shows:

• for the meals selected in Week 39, list all the ingredients needed
  • and for bonus points, sort that list by Grocery stores where I get that ingredient.

Can you help me think through how to accomplish this? I can’t think about how to approach this. Is there a query or something? A report? IDK what the next step should be. All advice is welcome! :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

6 Replies 6

I achieved what you wanted. You can use my revised version of the base you provided https://airtable.com/shrhrb9G1Fh01jgTO

It didn’t make sense to me for each week to be its own table (you’d have 55 tables by the end of the year). Instead, this revised version will automate all but one element of your project.

Use the “All Meals” view in the Meal Planner table to plan your meals. The Meal Planner table comes equipped with a “This Week’s Meals” view for your convenience.