675 2
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Marty_McCoy
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

I am new to the scripting app. I have a form that people fill out when they come to my office. It feeds into a table called Arrivals (QR Code). I want to create an automation that will run a script when the form is submitted:

1. If the person is a guest, they submit their email.
  2. When the record has that guest email, I want to check another table, Data About People, to see if there’s a record there for them.
  3. If yes, link the Data About People record to the newly created Arrivals (QR Code) record.
  4. If no, create then link.

I’m getting an error with this code:

let mainTable= base.getTable("Arrivals (QR Code)");
let mainTableRecords = await mainTable.selectRecordsAsync();

let lookupTable = base.getTable("Data About People");
let lookupRangeRecords = await lookupTable.selectRecordsAsync();

for (let record of mainTableRecords.records) {
    let lookupValue = record.getCellValue("Guest Email");

for (let rangeRecord of lookupRangeRecords.records) {
        if (rangeRecord.getCellValue("Email") === lookupValue) {
            let returnValue = rangeRecord.id;

mainTable.updateRecordAsync(record, {
                "Guest": returnValue
            });
        }
    }
}

The error message:

Error: Field “fldwtE0s49vY9FBb9” cannot accept the provided value.
at main on line 14

Many thanks to anyone who can help get this thing running!

2 Replies 2

Is the {Email } field the primary field in the Data About People table? If so, then you could do this without a script by using the Update Record step to copy the value from the {Guest Email} into the {Guest} field. If that isn’t the case, then ignore this method.

There are a few problems with your script: