cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Alexandra_Fause
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hello,

I’m a teacher and am trying to use Airtable for just about everything student data-related this year. I teach ESL students, and am trying to figure out the best way to organize some of their test scores. They take the ACCESS test, which measures their English language proficiency in different language domains, such as listening, speaking, reading and writing. The scores range from 1.1 to 6.0

I have all of their scores entered in the student info table, but it’s difficult to utilize looking at it that way, since a student might be a level 2 in writing, but a level 6 listening, for example. I want to make another table where I can organize the data to be more helpful. I want to have columns with levels 1-6, and the following rows:

Listening
Speaking
Reading
Writing
Comprehension
Oral
Literacy
Composite

Each one would link to the students’ names in that level, so it is easy to see at a glance which students are at which level for the different language domains. My problem is that I want to also be able to sort by class period so that I only see the students in my first hour class at one time, for example. This information is in my student info table so that I can sort by class period if I want to. Can anyone help me find a good way to do this? Thank you!

4 Replies 4
Alexandra_Fause
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Screenshot Student Info.png

I’d suggest having a “Students” table that is separate from your “Student Info” table.

Your “Student” table would have the student’s name, class period, and any other general info about a student.