Help

How to trigger creation of x # of new records based on input (x) from a numerical field?

Topic Labels: Integrations
2934 10
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sheryl_Baptista
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi, I’m trying to figure out if I can create x number of new records based on input from a numerical field of another record. So for example, if a customer fills in a form for 7 cakes, this will trigger the creation of 7 new cake records in another table.

I’ve been trying to figure this out with Paths on Zapier, but to no avail. I have a feeling this might be doable using Code by Zapier, but coding is very much outside of my current skill level (although willing to learn if someone can point me in the right direction!).

And apologies in advance if I’m incorrectly using this forum. I am relatively new to Airtable as well as the community. Thank you!

10 Replies 10

Hi Sheryl, welcome to the community!

Yes, this is a complicated challenge with Airtable’s standard (code-free) features. You are describing an automatic process and while Airtable is pretty good with human-driven processes, automated things like creating a collection of records based on a field value is well beyond its reach [presently].

This article seems to be what you are looking for.

I suspect there are ways to use Zapier to do this and the benefit would be a fully automated solution; i.e., it would create these additional task records automatically just a few minutes after entering the field that triggers the process.

A slightly less advantageous approach is to use a Script Block; an internal scripting feature.

Perhaps there are some good advisors here in the forum like @kuovonne who have already built something like this which seems like a really obvious thing people will want to do.

Thanks, but it is only partially built so far. There are lots of nuances that I am working on.