Help

I want to learn about Airtable but there are no resources!

1100 5
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Geoff_Warburton
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi,

I am an old school database developer and have recently discovered Airtable. I am intrigued and have signed up for the free account to try to discover what it’s about and how it all fits together.

However, I am gobsmacked that there appears to be no downloads available to study Airtable. I am unable to learn from a screen. Whenever I teach myself new skills I do it by pouring over reference manuals and experimenting - that’s the way I learn.

I simply cannot concentrate when some is spouting information at me in a webinar or a training video, clicking on various things instructing you to do this and that with out learning the REASON and UNDERLYING logic behind what you are doing. I also cannot read from the guides displayed onscreen, mainly because you have to keep swapping form the guide to your workspace trying to copy the examples. What I need is a printed manual I can learn from. I am not asking Airtable to provide printed manuals, just PDFs that I can download and print myself.

Does anyone have a view on this?
Thanks,
Geoff

5 Replies 5

Printed materials have definitely fallen out of favor — both in society at large and especially for learning web apps.

My free Airtable training course has been a huge & growing success for LinkedIn, which is a testament to how much people want interactive video training tutorials.

However, @JonathanBowen wrote 2 Kindle books on learning Airtable — can you print out Kindle books as PDF’s? I’m not sure if that’s a thing or not. See links below:

Welcome to the Airtable community!

Then you already know a lot of concepts that apply, such as normalizing data. However there are also things about Airtable that are going to frustrate you, such as

• how linked records works