1932 5
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
O_Brown
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi all - I am new to Airtable and am hoping to use it manage inventory for an online secondhand clothing store (Shopify-based). When we receive a new order a zapier integration will create a new row in an Airtable ‘Orders’ table with fields like quantity ordered, price etc. I would like this action to automatically trigger a corresponding downward increment of the quantity available field in my ‘Products’ table. How is this possible please? I don’t want to use formulas as then I would need to store all our orders indefinitely and would quickly exceed the size limit on the sheet. I need to be able to archive the orders information without losing the impact on my rolling ‘quantity available’ field in my products table. The incrementing impact needs to permanent and cumulative. Many thanks, Oli

5 Replies 5
Stephen_Parker
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

you can do it if your not afraid of a little javascripting. Let me know and then ill try to write a complete explanation on how to do it.

Hi Stephen - thanks for your reply and hope you are well! No, not afraid of coded solution :slightly_smiling_face: Would really appreciate your help with it? Many thanks, Oli

So i saw your question and thought I would try and figure it out and was able to make it work based on your description.

1. create automation with a trigger of “When a record is created”. Select your orders table for the table dropdown.

2. In the actions section choose Run Script from the dropdown. This should open up a large window with four different sections in it.
    airtable Edit script screen