Is there a way to black out a cell?

Is there a way to black out a cell to indicate that the cell is intentionally empty (as opposed to not filled in yet)?

Hi @Katherine_Vantosh - you can’t black out a cell, but you can highlight the record. There are a couple of ways of doing this (at least):

1. If you are on the Pro plan you can use the conditional colours:

Which gives you the coloured vertical bars at the LHS of each record:

1. You could create your own formula field that displays when the Value field is empty:

Screenshot 2020-02-09 at 21.25.16

using the formula:

IF(NOT(Value), '⬛️⬛️⬛️⬛️⬛️⬛️')

JB

Great - I am on the Pro plan and this is exactly what I needed! Thank you!

Hi @JonathanBowen -
Trying to implement your great suggestions and now that I’m deeper into the problem, I realize I didn’t properly explain the nuance of what I am needing …

I am very new to Airtable and I apologize if my questions or Airtable-specific vocabulary reflects that! Here’s a more detailed explanation of what I was hoping to do …