Help

Is there a way to convert formula created dates into Dates so they can be moved in calendar? #support

Topic Labels: Views
1071 2
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Fawcus
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

We have dates being calculated and viewed in Calendar - noob here so that was a big first step. But because these are formulas they cannot be moved around in Calendar View. Is there any way to convert these formula dates into Date Format that Airtable will recognize as a non-formula. We really want to be able to move these in calendar without having to open each record.

2 Replies 2

The only way that I’m aware of to do that would be to make a date field and copy the formula-calculated date into it. However, I’m curious what’s prompting you to want to change the calculated dates. Perhaps there’s a deeper solution to be discovered. Could you share more about what exactly you’re doing?

Well, depends on what you mean by ‘converted.’

If you want to use the calculation as a starting point — along the lines of 'calculate earliest possible delivery date as {ShipDate} + {TransitDays}’ — and then allow the record to be changed to meet customer needs, but without ever needing to revisit the calculation ever again, then all you need do is copy the calculated date into an actual date field and use the latter to configure the calendar view. (You would have to perform the copy, either manually or through an integration service such as Zapier or Integromat. If there will never be a need, ever again, to perform that calculation, you can simply change the field type from formula to date.)