cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Katrina_Reinier
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hello everyone -

I am having difficulty envisioning how to design an Airtable base for the purpose I need. I’m new to the product, but have watched a lot of the videos and read many tutorials, but I’m worried I’m fundamentally misunderstanding the capabilities of Airtable versus the task I have in mind.

I have one main table, let’s call it Photo Tracker. In that table I’m listing each photo I have in a collection, with fields for Owner, Cost, Keywords, etc. I would like to be able to click on Owner or Keywords and quickly see which other Asset Numbers are associated with the owner or keyword.

My main use for storing this data in airtable is I would like to routinely import csv files containing new file location data, and I would like for each newly created table to link to the original Photo Tracker table and pull up the relevant information for each photo. Therefore I’d have one master table, and a series of tables showing those photos organized into different collections – but with the associated Owner, Cost, Keywords pulled in automatically as well without needing to click on anything to pull that information up. The end goal is to create collections of photos and run analysis on them, like total cost, how many different owner’s photos are in the collection, etc.

I’ve tried this on my test tables, but I’m unable to create the links I need between my main Photo Tracker table and the new tables. The Photo # is what I would like to use for my Primary Field because it’s the only way we refer to these assets internally. However, when I make that number my Primary Field I’m unable to link to/from it, or the data disappears when I move it to a different field and convert to a linked field type. When I try to make the location data the primary field, the appropriate information doesn’t pull in from the main table.