cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Blair_Thornburg
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi there!

I am new to Airtable but very much liking it so far. I’ve been able to hack my way through most things I need through trial and error, but I’ve got one thing I’d like to make happen and I’m not sure how to approach.

I work a freelance job that pays monthly based on days worked (usually two per week). No hourly time tracking needed—a day worked is a day worked for a flat rate. What I’d like to be able to do is have a calendar where I can tick off all the days I’ve worked, and have that generate an invoice for the month with the daily rate multiplied out x days worked.

Any thoughts on how to make this happen? It seems like it should be simple enough, but I can’t figure out a streamlined solution. Thank you!

2 Replies 2

An option that comes to my mind is to have your main table contain a record for each day worked. You’d need a date field primarily, and then any other info fields you need. You could create a calendar view based on that single date field, and then create new records from the calendar view by simply clicking the + button on the day you worked on the calendar.

Depending on how much detail you need in your invoices, a good option for those might be to create another table called “Invoices”, and create a new record there for each invoice you need to send out. You’d use a Linked Record field to link each day you worked from your main table to the invoice.

In your “Invoices” table, you’ll want to create a currency field called “Daily Rate” or some-such, and set the default value to your current daily rate. This can be changed manually on a per-record basis, if needed (special cases), and the default value can be changed if your rates change later on.

Next, you’ll need a count field that counts how many “Days Worked” you linked to the invoice.