3151 16
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Leslie_Rimmer
5 - Automation Enthusiast

I’m very new to AirTable and am trying to build a base to track employee trainings. One table has employees and the other has events. Each event table record uses a multi-select field for selecting the staff who took the training. Now I want to produce a “report” for each employee. I’ve linked the events in the employee table but can’t figure out how to create a view that gives me info in a format that I can share with each staff member. Any input would be appreciated!

16 Replies 16

I would create your views in the “events” table, rather than the “employees” table.

Create a view that filters to show only “events” where “Employee” = “Some Name”. Then you can share that view with that employee via a shared view link, and that employee will be able to see only their own training events.

Is that what you are talking about doing?

That works well - great idea! So if I create a grid view and filter on a name in the attendee field I can see what trainings they did, and if I hide the attendee field they don’t have to see all the others who were there. Is there a way I can somehow pull their name into the report or as a title or do I have to create a view for each employee? There are about 40 of us. Thanks for your help with this!

Leslie_Rimmer

Another issue I’m running into involves attachments. In the events table I’m using attachments for training announcements and/or materials. However, if an employee receives a certificate, I need to attach that to their specific record. Does this point to having a 3rd table that is a training log with one record per event taken?

Yes, it does!

Table 1 = “Events”; 1 record for each Event held with all the information specific to that event

Table 2 = “Employees”; 1 record for each Employee with all the information specific to that employee