Help

Newbie here - lost in copying sum from a table and inserting that sum into another table

1256 8
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Nico_Stanculesc
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

I will start with apologies as I am new to this and struggling to reconnect my excel brain to a database one…

so, I have a table with several entries, grouped (summed up) by a “type”. i have sums (formulas) for each of these records (types) which i need copied to another table…

in my excel brain, i use +CELLFROMDIFFERENTTableORTab so is there something similar?

can someone take pity of me and show me how to do this, please?

gratefully -

nico

PS: Yes, I know I should sit in through the basics some more. Clearly, homework not done.

8 Replies 8

Welcome to the community, @Nico_Stanculescu! :grinning_face_with_big_eyes: Unfortunately you can’t arbitrarily link fields between tables. To connect tables together requires a link between records (not fields). One possible way to do this is to use the {Type} field you’ve already built. If this field is a single select, I suggest changing it to a link field pointing to your summary table. You didn’t give much detail on your setup, so I’m going to use this example:

Say you’re an auto dealership, and you’re tracking vehicles sold by type: car, truck, minivan, SUV, etc. With each of these types represented by a single record in a [Summary] table, and each vehicle record in the [Inventory] table linked to its appropriate type in the [Summary] table, you can fairly easily assemble a summary of profit, expenses, etc. by type using rollup fields.

A rollup field does just what its name implies. It lets you roll up (i.e. collect, summarize, etc.) values based on linked fields.