Pricing - Scripting App No Longer Free

I don’t suppose anyone has heard any rumors about the scripting app being further extended past March, 2021 under the free plan? I am just learning Javascript and starting to tinker with how I can use it in Airtable and I am bummed that it won’t be available for free. I use Airtable for personal uses and one not-for-profit membership tracking so I cannot justify paying $20 per month for the pleasure of tinkering. :frowning:

1 Like

They have extended the Scripting App’s availability on free plans once already, it was originally supposed to end sometime in Fall last year. I don’t believe they’ll extend it again.

If you work for a nonprofit you can apply for a special discount (50% off): Airtable for Nonprofits Application

Thanks, Kamille! I appreciate the information. I will look into the nonprofit application.

I’m thinking exactly the opposite. :wink: I will bet you a fine sandwich of your choice they will not only extend access but they will announce that’s it’s free and will always be free.

If I’m wrong …

• I will owe you an expensive sandwich but you’ll feel somewhat indebted to me when I ask a really tough React question sometime in the future.
  • Users will revolt; many will openly weep. Some will need therapy.
  • Many thousands of solutions and utilities will go dormant as will the databases that depend on them. It will not be one of Airtable’s better days in the support group.
  • Hundreds of users will begrudgingly upgrade, but they will remember this and question the adoption of any new features in the future.
  • Vastly, Airtable users and consultants will collectively give the company the middle finger for increasing the total cost of ownership to perform processes that are impossible to achieve through usual and customary no-code processes and for which these capabilities should exist without code workarounds.
4 Likes