3729 12
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Brenda_Sullivan
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Good morning, I am pretty new to airtable and am trying to find a way to save a subgroup (using filters) of my main table as a separate table - Similar to sheets that run along the bottom of Excel. Is there not a “save as” feature? I am using Airtable to organize the grants that our non-profit gives out. Then I want to be able to select some and save those selections - say for a particular school, or a particular year. What am I missing?

12 Replies 12

Hi Brenda,

Views are what you need to use. Have a look at the Airtable guide here:

Patrick_Geary
5 - Automation Enthusiast

My problem with Views is that since it is not possible to save them as a new AirTable, they do not help overcoming the limitation that prevents filtering using more than one operand. For example, if one could filter using “and” and get a view that could be saved as a new table, then one could use “does not contain” or some other function in filters to further refine a search. This does not seem to be possible in AirTable. I would appreciate hearing from someone who has found a work around.

You can use a formula field to define arbitrarily complex criteria for records you want to filter on, having the formula output a 1 if the record meets the complex filter criteria.

Then simply filter the view for records where your formula field == 1.

Patrick_Geary

Thanks, this is what I am now working on now as an alternative. It remains unfortunate that there is apparently no way to save the results as a separate table that could then be exported with all of its data but without the full data base.

The contents of a single view can be exported out of the Airtable base on its own, independent of the other records in that table – if that is what you mean.