cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jeremy_Martin
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

Hi there community members

I’m still new to airtable scripting and really need your help in solving the timeout problem on one of my scripts.

I’m getting a script exceeded execution time on the following code. What can I do or how can I change the script to prevent it from happening

console.log(“Start Ditribution script”);

let inputConfig = input.config();
let leadRecordId = inputConfig.recordID;
let tableLeads = base.getTable(“LGA Leads”);

let query = await tableLeads.selectRecordsAsync({ fields: tableLeads.fields });
let leadRecord = query.getRecord(leadRecordId);

console.log(leadRecord.getCellValue(“Lead Key”));

I see the 1st console.log, but not the 2nd, so I assume it must be happening when I’m opening the table. The table has a lot of records.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Jeremy_Martin
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

Thanks I’ve added it and will check to see if that solves my problem.
Have a great day

See Solution in Thread

11 Replies 11
Alex_Wolfe1
Airtable Employee
Airtable Employee

Hey there!

My hunch is your script is timing out because you’re current query is actually pulling all records from the table.

I’d recommend using selectRecordAsync instead (note the singular “Record” vs. “Records” in selectRecordsAsync) which lets you pass a single recordId into it, to get to that record faster.

Hope that helps!

Jeremy_Martin
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

Thank you for you help

Can you let me know how I pass the id with the selectRecordAsync ? I need to retrieve all the fields to use it further on

let query = await tableLeads.selectRecordAsync({ fields: tableLeads.fields });
let leadRecord = query.getRecord(leadRecordId);

I had a look in the documentation, but it is not very clear

How many records and how many fields?
Is this the entire script, or is there more to the script?