2280 5
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Alan_Critchley
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

I have a table with approx 1750 records which I have attempted to sort. However, the result appears to be in two sections, each one having a sort of A to Z and each section having its own unique records. How do I sort the whole table with just one result?

5 Replies 5

Did you create one or more Groups in your view? A group has his own sorting, and overrules the sorting you setup next to the groups.

Thank you for your suggestion Andre. I am new to Airtable and I did not intentionally create any Groups. However, the data was input from two separate spreadsheet sources and the adjacent field to my sort parameter is a number but with a different format in each case. One source was a one to three digit number, but the second was all three digits with leading zeroes. Now that I look at my Sort result it appears as though the two sections are differentiated by that number field.
So do you think that groups have been created automatically?

You can tell if a group is active on the top of your screen:

Group

In this case, there is 1 filter active, but there is no group.
So, if you didn’t create a group on purpose, don’t worry about it. There will be none.

About the numbers, does your table look something like this:
Numbers%20Sort
Because, this is sorted. It is a text field, that actually understands that 001 = 1, 002 = 2. I’m just trying to understand what your table looks like.

Alan_Critchley
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Thanks again Andre. Problem is now fixed.