Help

Re: Counting how many times a Single Select Field had hit a specific state?

Solved
Jump to Solution
1756 8
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mocianto
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hello guys! I am new to Airtable, and have been absolutely amazed by it’s possibilities. However, there is one specific thing where I got completely stuck for several hours and no YouTube videos or Forum topics helped me get through.

I am practicing on a table for a Car Dealership. Each record has 5 columns with Car Details, and then a Single Select Field where we can choose from “Available”, “Reserved” and “Sold”.

Then I have another table called “Car Dealership Statistics”, and here I would like to count how many times my cars went into “Reserved” and how many times they went into “Sold”. These numbers can be different because people can abandon their Reservations and the car becomes Available again.

I wanted to tackle this with a Counter column, a Formula column ( Counter+1 ) and an Automation that increases Counter by Formula when the field = Reserved, and then same when field = Sold.

However, I keep getting the message in my Automation that the Formula column can not be used to Dynamically increase Counter because it is computed. Any ideas?

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Alexey_Gusev
12 - Earth
12 - Earth

Hi,

You should update Counter field and put there value of a Formula field

but I would write all events ‘Car X changed to Y’ into log (longtext field)

don’t forget to add Old value

and then use substitute trick to count stats

See Solution in Thread

15 Replies 15

Welcome to the community, @mocianto!

Yes, what you described should work. If “counter” is a number field, then you should be able to update the counter field with the value from your formula field.

If it’s not working, please post screenshots or a video.

mocianto

Thank you for the warm welcome!
I am probably making some small stupid mistake, but here are the screenshots: