3222 2
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Richard_Hayden
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi All,. I am relatively new to Airtable and am hoping for guidance regarding an issue I have encountered. I have a table of riders which I use to record day to day notes and injury information. It is reviewed daily by our Doctor who then decides depending on the injury if the rider should take a break from competing or if they can be cleared immediately to continue . When the Doctor decides that the rider can be cleared I would like to have a button that she clicks which clears the relevant fields but also automatically creates a new record in another table to retain a copy of this information for reporting purposes at the end of the year. 

The relevant fields are 1) a linked record from another table showing venue incident took place 2) checkbox 3) a single select 4) long text 5) attachment

thanks

2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
subinbabu

Go to the table that contains the rider information and click on the "Automations" button in the top-right corner.

Click on the "Add trigger" button.

Select the "When a record is updated" trigger and choose the table that contains the rider information.

In the "If" condition, select the checkbox field that indicates when the rider has been cleared to continue competing. Set the condition to "is true".

In the "Then" action, select "Create a new record" and select the table where you want the copied information to be stored.

In the "Fields to set" section, set the values for each of the relevant fields: the linked record from the other table, the checkbox, the single select, the long text, and the attachment.

Save the automation.

Now, when the Doctor clears a rider, the relevant information will be automatically copied to the other table and a new record will be created. This will allow you to retain a copy of the information for reporting purposes at the end of the year.

See Solution in Thread