Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SharonC
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hey 

I am stuck with the automation of "update records", and this is where I am:

1. I have a table named "master project" (primary field) and in each row, consists of 7 sub-projects under the same master project. All 7 projects shared the same status on 4 variables, while each also have different status on 5 variables  

2.  I need to break each of the 7 sub-projects into individual row so that I can run calculation based on each row. For this purpose, I have created another table with "Projects" being my primary field. And to continue build on new projects when i have more master projects input from table 1 (above point), I have use "create a record" automation to pipe in full information of each project

3. My challenge is, I need to create an automation that, if any update is detected on (1), it should also automate my second sheet (2). But now because I have broken down 1 master project / record in table 1 into 7 rows in table 2, seems like the software is having difficulties in connecting (1) and (2), especially the way I update table 2 is through automation (but necessary because "lookup" does not work since the non-common variables are in different field for each project). Hence, whenever I choose "record ID" as the field to "record ID" in update automation, it is showing "invalid input"; although i have already created a field on table 2 to include "record ID" displayed in table 1.

What are the solutions that could help updating table 2? Any other connectors that I should use?

Thanks a million!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

It would be the "Current Item"'s record ID!

Screenshot 2024-03-13 at 4.54.01 PM.png

See Solution in Thread

6 Replies 6

Hmm, could you include screenshots of your tables and your automation setup?  Could you also indicate on the screenshots the data from Table 1 and where it would go on Table 2?

SharonC

Hi Adam,  thanks for responding!