cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
GabrielViger
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hello Airtable Community!

I am new in Airtable and have no coding skills so bear with me please.

I created a first rule that creates a record in Table B if a checkbox is checked in Table A:

Screen Shot 2022-11-04 at 11.14.09 AM

Screen Shot 2022-11-04 at 11.14.38 AM

That is working as expected.

Now, I want to create an automation rule that if I uncheck the same checkbox from Table A, it deletes the same record in Table B.

I’ve searched for article and found this one but don’t know how to make it work:

Can someone help me figure out how to make this work?

Thanks for your help :slightly_smiling_face:

Gabriel

9 Replies 9

Ho Gabriel, and welcome to the community!

Scripting aside, two very key database constructs compel me to ask:

1. Have you investigated Airtable synching capabilities?
  2. Is it possible that your two tables are really just the same table with two different views?

Hi Bill!

Thanks for taking the time to answer my question.

I have not investigated Airtable synching capabilities. I will have a look but any reference would be appreciated.

I don’t think that my two tables are the same with different views but one table does display information from another table. Is there a way to verify that?

Thanks!

Gabriel

Verify? Nah - this is about your data model design. Views are extremely powerful - they let you consolidate information and manage it as a unified collection of records. Then, when you need a certain filtered view of those records and with specific fields, views allow you to virtualize the outcome instead of having separate physical silos.

Hi Bill,

Thanks for your help. I will have a look at the articles you referenced.

To give you a bit more context:

We are using Airtable as an asset management platform to track our Softwares.

We have 1 base with multiple tables.