cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Allen_Wixted
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi All,

Struggling to get the following functionality into a base and hoping you can help a novice here.

We are attempting to use Airtable to track & visualise AWS logs for interactions with our service.

I the graph above I have outlined a rough schematic on what we are aiming to achieve however we are running into issues with tracking on a daily basis.

I’m not sure how to structure our base so that we can gain the ability filter by day, see which products were trending, measure performance based on view count and feed that back to the client’s tag.

Ideally we want to enable our clients to change a date field and see the product list re-order as such, with views, revenue etc following.

We can populate the records via an API, we are just struggling with the base design.

875FFF34-9DFC-4407-8664-242B9497AA33_1_201_a

5 Replies 5

I don’t want to toss cold water on your plan, but this is likely a bad fit for Airtable.

Log analytics are typically vast in quantity and tend to be like a firehose. Airtable is not well-suited for either large record quantities or rapid flows of data.

As your requirements make clear, log analytics need agile slicing features that are simply not easily achieved in Airtable. You need time-slicing abilities like this (I suspect) -

You also need comprehensive data visualization like this (I suspect) -

If you must do this in Airtable, consider these ideas.

1. Look closely at Vega-Lite (in addition to of the Charts App).
  2. Look at ways to aggregate log records as collections of objects in single [aggregate] Airtable records.

Hey Bill,

Thanks so much for the detailed answer. You’re likely right, sadly, as I love Airtable.

A few points that may adjust your answer and apologies for not including more info.