240 1
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
flourishflowers
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi! I'm a flower farmer, trying to teach myself Airtable.

I wanted to keep track of my tulips from year to year and set up a base. I need suggestions on how to organize this better!  Each type of tulip might have a different harvest date from year to year, and its possible I might buy it from a different source from year to year. Maybe I like one company's bulb over another, etc.   I think I'll add a price per bulb as well, which will change from year to year.   

Should I set up a new table for every year and then bring that data together? What makes the most sense?  My main goal is to be able to see the big picture of different bulbs to help me decide what to order in the future.  Any advice is super helpful for this newbie!!

Thanks!!

https://airtable.com/invite/l?inviteId=invhDaxp0pV6Mumtq&inviteToken=fde59ccd8fb8d8ec47dea61f9655ef7...

6 Replies 6

Hmm, if I were you I think I'd have a table of tulips that contained all the tulip details (vendor, type etc) and a table of harvests, and I'd link them together so that each record in the "Harvests" table represented a single year linked to a single record from "Tulips".  That way you'd be able to add the price per bulb on a per year basis

May I know what's the difference between the data in "Tulip Master List" and "Tulip Details"?  This is a really interesting use case!

Ah! Thank you so much! I will try rearranging my data.  I was having trouble wrapping my head around how to do this in a way that made sense. So in the 'harvests' table, I can add any data relevant to that year- like price or how that tulip performed, right?

I made this last year and I think my purpose in making the two tables was to create a nice kanban view with the pictures.  I was just playing around.  I'm a bit better at working in the dirt than behind a screen. 🙂  So I appreciate the help!

When I rearrange, I'll post!

Best,