cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Amberlee_Peace
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

I am new to relational databases in general

My goal is comparing reports of what are supposed to be the same items, but will occasionally have small (and sometimes large) errors. Because the reports come from 3 different locations, each one is already slightly different, but they each have a Serial Number field and an Object ID field. Those are what are most important to me

What I’m trying to be able to do is have a table where I can plug in my Serial Numbers and see what each report says their Objected ID is, so if they are mismatched, I can see that easily. I know this seems straight forward, but I’ve been trying to use linked records and Lookup…and it keeps messing up.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
WilliamPorter
9 - Sun
9 - Sun

@Amberlee_Peace,

Welcome to the Airtable Community!

I’m not sure exactly what you’re trying to do with your precise data, but I think I may be able to make a suggestion that will help you, even without knowing your precise details. At least let me tell you how I go about handling error checking and validations.

Create a formula field that counts errors

The basic idea is: I create a formula field that I usually call “ERRORS”. The formula consists of a series of linked tests joined by a plus-sign ("+"). Remember that a true result equals 1 while a false result = 0. So the tests have to be written to test for errors rather than non-errors, if you follow me. Here’s an example:

DOB = BLANK()

If the DOB (“Date of Birth”) field is empty, this will return true or 1. I’d only test for this if DOB is a required field. Now I’d add a plus-sign and the next test, say,

DOB = BLANK() +
( DateOfActivity <= DateInvoiced )