2295 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ruth_Szpunar
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

I have a set of data generated from a user survey. For each question I asked them, I am going to score their answer. I have no issues with this when their answer is, for example, “google.” I set up a new table, link the fields from the full set of data to the new table and then put a score of 6 in the next column from google and am all set so that everyone who said google gets a 6. But when I try to do this with more complex data, the new table cuts off most of my text. For example, one cell reads
1: Google
2: Google Scholar
3: Library Website

But everything but the first line is removed. This also happens with items that are just one long paragraph. Basically anywhere I’d use a long text field type. I can get around it by manually doing a bunch of stuff in Excel but surely there is a more elegant solution?

TIA for any advice! I’m new to Airtable but not to database management :slightly_smiling_face:

8 Replies 8
Ruth_Szpunar
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hey, I stumped the community on my first try. Ha!

Welcome to the Airtable community!

I’m sorry that you didn’t get an answer to your question. It may be that people had a difficult time picturing your scenario. It might help if you posted some screen shots to go with your explanation.

Airtable also handles links between records differently from other database programs, so that might be causing some of the issues.

Adding screenshot, as suggested!

I’d like to link the column “Database ranking” to another table. But when I do so, it cuts off everything on the second and following lines. So the cell would just read 1: Google. It does this on any column that would regularly be set to “long text” field type.

There are a couple of issues here.