412 1
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
tomn68
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Please bear with me since I'm new to Airtable and this is hard to explain.  I've inherited a base which contains details on job descriptions which is to be used to merge into a Formstack docs.

Main Tab lists the details of each job description in rows. (eg. title, reports to, requirements level, requirements...).  2nd Tab contains job requirement levels in rows.  (eg Level 1, Level 2...)  A column in this second tab contains bulleted lists of the requirements.  The main tab has a column for Requirement Level(s) and a job can have multiple levels linking to the records in the 2nd tab. So this column has links to multiple records/levels. The problem is with a lookup field/column in this main tab. It pulls Levels requirements (pulling from multiple records if more than one Level). So returning and combining bulleted lists from multiple records.

However when it does this, it will automatically adds a comma into the lookup field between the bulleted lists from the records. Looks like this below. Notice the comma before the bullet.   Is there any way to avoid this?

- Assist account teams with all required deliverables
- Contribute, with moderate direction, towards the development of a superior creative product
- Proactive take-charge mentality and the capability to own projects with moderate direction.
, - Independently manages projects within budgeted work scope and timelines, especially multifaceted and or multiple modes of delivery
- Contribute, with minimal direction, towards the development of a superior creative product 

1 Reply 1

Hey @tomn68

For this, you'll want to use a rollup field instead of a lookup field.
I created a small demo to help visualize this. 
The base you inherited seems like it might be structured in a weird way, so I've just replicated what I imagine the intent to be.

We have job records and requirement records.