Help

Save the date! Join us on October 16 for our Product Ops launch event. Register here.

Re: Schedule for Live Events Crew

272 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ZLEVY
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi, I help run a live event production company, mostly concerts and other performance events. I am trying to create a schedule for crewing my events. I want it to be organized by "Event" primarily, then "Position" (think stagehand, lighting, sound, etc) and then I would like to assign crew to each position. I have attached the Google Sheet I currently use for reference. 

I have already created my crew database as it's own table, as well as a table for events. 

I am brand new to Airtable so please explain as if I am a third grader. 

In addition to this, I would like to create a time sheet for each "Event", preferably auto-created when I create a new event, that auto fills with pay, position & crew member from the schedule, and I just have to input hours and then I can print that and send it to accounting. 

Any help is appreciated. Thank you!

1 Reply 1

If I were you I'd have another table called "Positions" where each record represents a single position and is linked to all the crew members that can do that job, as this would let me use dynamic filters (https://support.airtable.com/docs/dynamic-filtering-in-linked-record-fields).

For example, the "Crew" table would look like this:

Screenshot 2024-08-18 at 2.45.10 PM.png

And the "Positions" table would look like this:

Screenshot 2024-08-18 at 2.43.54 PM.png

I'd then have an "Event <> Positions" where each record represents a single position in a single event:

Screenshot 2024-08-18 at 2.44.41 PM.png

And this would allow me to select the crew members that are in that position only:

Screenshot 2024-08-18 at 2.46.07 PM.png

Screenshot 2024-08-18 at 2.46.04 PM.png

===