cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ChloChlo
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hello,

I am pretty new to AirTable, and I was wondering if anyone has advice on designing an inventory base/ tables for a small business. Currently, I have three tables for inventory - employee equipment (IT Equipment), supply closet inventory, and our meeting room inventory. Each of these tables features the item’s name, brand, description, quantity, unit type, price per unit, link to purchase, location, and the date of last purchase. I also have a table for a shopping list where employees can submit a shopping request.

What is the best way to design a base like this where I can easily track, uniquely identify, and organize each item? I am new to office inventory keeping and wanted to hear about your best practices.

Additionally, I am trying to figure out a way to add a checkout option for employees looking to use certain equipment and a way to track how many times something has been purchased.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

4 Replies 4

Hi Chloe, I think if I were you I would combine the Employee equipment (IT Equipment), Supply Closet Inventory and Meeting Room Inventory into one table, and use a single select field to set their item types

That way you don’t have identical fields in different tables tracking the same types of data, and we can create views to only look at Supply Closet items, for example

Screenshot 2022-08-11 at 10.33.34 AM

For checking out and purchasing, I would suggest a single Movement table that tracks all equipment purchases, check ins, and check outs

(The Quantity for Rollup field changes the Quantity value for Check Outs into a negative value so that, when we add the values up later, it makes sense)

Screenshot 2022-08-11 at 10.43.27 AM

We can then create a rollup field in the Inventory table called “Quantity” to track the quantity in stock automatically after accounting for check ins and check outs