1753 1
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Stephen_Hudson
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

I’m relatively new to coding, and I was able to call a REST API, and record the information to the console log.

Unfortunately, where I am having trouble, is then taking that response and doing literally anything with it. Here is the code and the response below

let response = await fetch(‘https://myapiendpoint.com’,

{
method: ‘GET’,
headers: {
‘apikey’: ‘123456789’
},
})

console.log(await response.text());

The response I get is in XML it seems. A small excerpt of the response below:

<User><Id>USER ID</Id><UserName>USER NAME</UserName><FirstName>FIRST NAME</FirstName><LastName>LAST NAME</LastName><Active>true</Active><Email>EMAIL</Email></User>

I want to take the objects in this response (for example FirstName and LastName), and assign them to variables so that records can be created in later steps. I appreciate any assistance that can be given!

3 Replies 3

So if you use .json() instead of .text() on response, you’ll get an object, structured roughly like

{
  "records": [
    { // first record
      "id": "rec***********"
      "createdTime": "2022-11-23T********"
      "fields": { //fields use name instead of id
        }
    },
    { // second record
    },
  ]
}

I’m not sure how your data is structured, but the data you’re looking for will be in the fields key of each object under the records array.

So, using something like:

let recordArray = (await response.json()).records;

You can then iterate over the array with forEach or map to assign your variables.

There is an alternative method to accessing it via the airtable library:

const AIRTABLE_API_KEY = 'key**********' //insert your key here

var Airtable = require('airtable');
Airtable.configure({
    endpointUrl: 'https://api.airtable.com',
    apiKey: AIRTABLE_API_KEY
});
var base = Airtable.base('app***********');