927 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Tori_Klein
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

I’ve set up a few automated scripting actions using the beta automations features but keep receiving the same error message when I try to run the automation.

The same script runs without issue in the scripting block, so I’m not sure how to resolve this. Any pointers? I’m also a JavaScript novice.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

When you open up the Script editor, after having captured a record in the trigger (a record that has either been created or that has entered a view), you can pull that same record into the script by adding it to the input variable on the left side:
CleanShot 2020-08-17 at 19.14.49

Just select + Add input variable, give it the name by which you will retrieve it, and for “Value” use the blue + button to find the Record ID of the record that triggered Step 1.

Then, you can retrieve that record from the input variable in your script, and act only on that record. So your new script might look something like this:
CleanShot 2020-08-17 at 19.33.09

Here’s a copy-pastable version of that:

let recordId = input.config().recordID

let trainingTable = base.getTable("Training | Started")
let recordQuery = await trainingTable.selectRecordsAsync()
let recordToUpdate = recordQuery.records.find(record => record.id == recordId)
let trainingEmail = recordToUpdate.getCellValue("Email")

let applicationsQuery = await base.getTable("Applications").selectRecordsAsync()
let applicationsToLink = applicationsQuery.records.map(applicationRecord => {
    if (applicationRecord.getCellValue("Email") === trainingEmail) {
        return { id: applicationRecord.id }
    }
})

await trainingTable.updateRecordAsync(recordId, {
    "Applications record": [applicationsToLink]
})

See Solution in Thread

5 Replies 5