cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SarahB
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi all,

I'm a complete beginner and have never worked with API's before. So I'm really sorry, but I'm hoping someone could help me, as I've been googling for days and don't know what is what anymore!

I am trying to link my shipping solution (Shipstation) to my Airtable database.

So far, I've managed to successfully set up a webhook, so when an order is shipped, Shipstation sends a webhook to Airtable. However the webhook is just a "resource_url", not actual useful data (like an order number). I've gone to the "resource_url" (which needs a username and password) and it has all the data I need.

So I guess I need to "run a script" and write an API to go and fetch the data from the "resource_url", so I can then use the order number to "update record".

I've added the "resource_url" from the webhook as a variable / input config.

So what I need the script to do is;

• Go to "resource_url" (which is the input config called SHIPSTATION)
  • Login with Username and password
  • Output the data

Can anyone help? Or point me to a resource that explains where I need to start (to someone who doesn't really know what an API is?)

Many thanks Sarah

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

Yeap, I recommend checking out the documentation for creating records found here, it should have all the info you need for creating records.

To get the data out of the response, try something like:

let config = input.config();
let response = await fetch(config.url, {
    method: 'GET',
    headers: {
        'Content-Type': 'application/json',
        'Authorization': 'Basic U2hpcFN0YXRpb246Um9ja3M='
    },
});
let data = await response.json()
let shipDate = data.shipments[0].shipDate
let orderNumber = data.shipments[0].orderNumber

Then just plug `shipDate` and `orderNumber` into that create records code found above and you should be good to go

See Solution in Thread

7 Replies 7