1806 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Howard_Goldstei
5 - Automation Enthusiast

I have a base that is a migration from a MySQL db and a web based (I think JS) app. I did not build the original and the person who did has disappeared. I am not a coder. Successfully migrated the data and created the proper links within the base, but the client really wants something pretty on the front end. The db is a list of photographs with info like size, medium, etc. and pieces sold for how much, how many in the series, etc. They want an interface to interact with the db like they had.

Is this doable and how might I go about it or might there be someone who is interested in doing the work?

Thanks in advance.

Howard Goldstein

17 Replies 17

Hi Howard,

Yeah, this is a common request and not unreasonable in the grand context of Airtable as platform for information workers. What you’re describing is simply an extended use case of the data and rendering it should be simple and straightforward using the Airtable API. Pretty much everything is doable - it’s a simple matter of time and money. :winking_face:

Here are some questions to consider as you unfurl the deeper requirements.

1. Security - is there anything about this content that needs to be rendered in the context of user identity?
  2. Data Complexity - how many relationships (linking fields and tables) are involved?
  3. Size and Scale - how big is it and how big will it become?
  4. Categories and Filtering - is this one big flat list? Or, will the web all require some order and structure to the user interface?
  5. Search - will users need to search, and if so, full text? Keywords?
  6. Mobility - are there any users of this web ap who are likely to expect a modern mobile UI/UX?