cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jeff_Miller3
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi,

I’m trying to run the below VLOOKUP type script. When I type it in I get a strikethough on mainTable.selectRecordsAsync - I’m not a programmer and wondering 1) if this is why my script is not running and 2) how to fix it.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!

let mainTable = base.getTable(“Price Book”);
let mainTableRecords = await mainTable.selectRecordsAsync();

let lookupTable = base.getTable(“Inventory”);
let lookupRangeRecords = await lookupTable.selectRecordsAsync();

for (let record of mainTableRecords.records) {
let lookupValue = record.getCellValue(“Number”);

for (let rangeRecord of lookupRangeRecords.records) {
if (rangeRecord.getCellValue(“Item”) === lookupValue) {
let returnValue = rangeRecord.getCellValue(“CA INV”);

await mainTable.updateRecordAsync(record, {
            "CA Inv": returnValue
        });
   }
}

}

8 Replies 8

Welcome to the community, @Jeff_Miller3! :grinning_face_with_big_eyes: That particular syntax for .selectRecordsAsync() is deprecated. Long story short, that syntax used to grab all fields for all records, but now the preferred (and soon-to-be required) method is to specify exactly which fields you want to retrieve. This makes the whole process faster, especially for tables with lots of fields.

A couple other threads have already discussed this; this is the first that I could find after a quick search:

Jeff_Miller3
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Thanks so much Justin.

I’m sorry to be so inexperienced, but below is what I’ve entered based on this new syntax. I’ll post a screenshot also. It would be fun to be able to run things like this as a newbie to anything programming related, so I’m determined to get it figured out :slightly_smiling_face:

…also you’ll find a screenshot of each table.