Help

Re: Scripting (or formula building) assistance request!

769 1
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Taylor_Johnston
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

Hi –

In an effort to save weeks worth of research, I’m hoping to find someone who may know the most efficient way to build out an automation process. I have no experience with computer language or programming and am officially waving my white flag. :rofl:

I essentially need to build a custom numerology app.
I need to be able to press a button in my Airtable and run a program to break down each name (first, middle, last - each in separate columns) into individual characters and assign each letter to a number.
There are more steps to the process as a whole, but this is my primary need for assistance.

I’m fairly certain this can be done with a formula by splitting the text string (name) into individual characters; however, I don’t know how to make this a dynamic process (for the len and/or mid functions) nor do I know how to run a split function without a delimiter.

If anyone has any suggestions, all feedback is appreciated!
As briefly mentioned, there are more steps to this process and I would be more than willing to hire someone to help me build out a few of my needs - I’m a new business owner and the need for automation is rising exponentially. Please PM me if this is something you would be interested in discussing - otherwise, any advice will help tremendously. :slightly_smiling_face:

UPDATE
I was able to get a great start on the script thanks to Bill (code can be found in the comments) – I’m still searching for someone who can help me finish the rest, so I’m going to put the remaining project details below. :slightly_smiling_face: