789 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Derek_Sheppard
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

I read through this thread and this one trying to find a way to remove escaped quotes /" from the API response on a couple of fields. It looks like, if the field is calculated (I could be misspeaking, I’m just a developer working with the API so I’m unfamiliar with how using the Airtable interface works.) and includes a comma, it’ll wrap the string in extra quotes in the response. Ex: Agency Name for Website: "\"Hearing, Speech and Deaf Center (HSDC)\""

I’ve tried all of these variations in filterByFormula:

`SUBSTITUTE('\"', '')`
`SUBSTITUTE("\"", "")`
`SUBSTITUTE({Agency Name for Website}, '\"', '')`
`SUBSTITUTE({Agency Name for Website}, "\"", "")`

and all versions without escaping the double quote, and encoded each here before appending them to the URL. None of them have any effect.

Am I missing something? Something else in my parameters messing with it? A bug? Is there another way to remove the quotes? Thanks for any help.

This is the full list of encoded parameters in my request:

filterByFormula=SUBSTITUTE(%7BAgency+Name+for+Website%7D%2C+'%5C%22'%2C+'')&sort%5B0%5D%5Bfield%5D=Agency+Name+for+Website&sort%5B0%5D%5Bdirection%5D=asc&view=Website+view

3 Replies 3

Admittedly I haven’t used Airtable’s API before, but I’ve done a lot of quote escaping, and I think I know the problem. If the quote is escaped as you specified above, that means that it’s not just an escaped quote that you need to remove, but the backslash in front of it as well, which will require its own escape.

Here’s the code as I’d write it inside Airtable:

SUBSTITUTE({Agency Name for Website}, '\\\"', '')

The first backslash escapes the second one, and the third escapes the quote, so that it looks for a literal backslash followed by a quote.

Convert as needed for your filterByFormula usage, and let me know if that works.

Thank you!