Help

Re: Taking a 2D array in one record and adding a record for each value in the array

Solved
Jump to Solution
1014 2
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jordan_Crosley
5 - Automation Enthusiast

That is probably a very confusing title, I will do my best to explain what I want but I am pretty new to coding and Airtable.

I already have a Grid View with multiple fields, and I am using the Forms View to add to my Grid View. In my Form I have a multiple select option where I can add multiple pieces of equipment that will be assigned to one project.

However, for my Gantt Views I need the Primary Field to only contain one value. Right now I am using a formula to define my Primary Field.

I think what I need to do is create a script that will extract the individual values of the array and assign them their own records. You can see from the images that not every record contains an array. Just for the sake of clarity, my Forms View updates the “Equipment # and Description” field, which has the lookup field “New # (Don’t Use)” which is what is used to define the Primary field. Not really an elegant solution but it is what I have so far.

My Forms View:

FormsImage

My Table, with primary field formula:

ViewImage

Any help or suggestions here would be appreciated!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Jordan_Crosley

Just in case anyone ever has a similar question, I finally came to a solution. Much thanks to Erin with the Airtable team!!!

let table = base.getTable("Gantt Charts")
let query = await table.selectRecordsAsync()
for (let equipment of query.records) {
    let quantity = equipment.getCellValue("Count")
    if (quantity > 1) {
    let myArrayPrint = equipment.getCellValueAsString("Equipment # and Description")
    console.log('Entry Deleted:',[myArrayPrint])
        for (let i = 0; i < quantity; i++) {
            let myArray1 = equipment.getCellValue("Equipment # and Description")
            let myArray2 = myArray1[i].id