3037 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Philip_Barber
7 - App Architect
7 - App Architect

I am a real novice at formulas and I have been unable to work out what I have done wrong. Can somebody please tell me.

DATETIME_DIFF(TODAY(01-11-2019),{DOB LInk},‘Y’)

I am trying to return the age of a person based on the difference between the DOB and the date in the future. What I have here works sometimes but sometimes gives the incorrect age. The problem occurs if the dob is later in the year than todays date.

0d41b7239ab01c5f5e8f76a7f7d714f76ba86a36.png

AYM Festival test 2019 - Airtable

Explore the "AYM Festival test 2019 " base on Airtable.

Hopefully the link will show that the first age (for Jacob) is correct but the second line for (Peter) is one year out.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

Grrr… I copy-and-pasted your formula with the changes — but I missed the curly quotes around the ‘Y’. The forum software here ‘prettifies’ them… but Airtable needs 'Y' instead of ‘Y’.

Overtype them with the straight quote (often the unshifted " to the left of the Enter key, but possibly the unshifted @ two keys to the left — or possibly something entirely different :winking_face: ). Or copy and paste this version:

DATETIME_DIFF(DATETIME_PARSE('01-11-2019','DD-MM-YYYY'),{DOB Link},'Y')

(Again, that uses 1 November 2019 as the match date; if you want 11 November, you’ll need to correct.)

See Solution in Thread

17 Replies 17

Well, Peter is 6 years old — 6 years and 11 months, that is. DATETIME_DIFF() returns the number of whole years difference between the two dates; months are truncated.

If you want to show Peter as being 7 years old when the ‘today’ date is nearly his birthday, you can try this:

DATETIME_DIFF(TODAY(01-11-2019),{DOB LInk},‘M’)/12

Formatted with a single decimal place, that will show Peter’s age as 6.9; formatted as an integer, it shows 7. You can also use ROUND(), ROUNDUP(), or ROUNDDOWN() if you need more control.