631 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jack_Inscoe
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hello - I’m quite new to Airtable and trying to prototype out an invoicing application, but I’m running into an snag and could use some guidance.

My base:

• Clients Table (name, id, project lead, etc)
  • Items table - this is a granular list of the items for an entire project - name, descirption, costs, % complete, status, last updated datetime, and a link to the clients table
  • Invoices - In this table my goal is to be able to create a monthly invoice for a client based on the items table with the following conditions.
    • Where the CLIENTassociated with the ITEM = CLIENT associated with the ITEM AND ITEM’S Last Updated date is BETWEEN {invoice start date} & {invoice end date}

In SQL I would join on the client ID for both tables, but it’s not yet clear to me whether this kind of join can be done in Airtable. I’ve looked at other invoicing examples and it looks like many have the ITEMS associated at the invoice, but in my use case that may be too laborious with the number of line items and error prone, so automating it off the last updated date would be ideal.

Thanks for the help. Excited for what’s possible with AirTable

3 Replies 3

For anything you would have used join in SQL you use a linked record field in airtable.

Consider the following setup, which involves linking Items to Invoices and relies on Automations to do the linking for you:

Have your Items table look like this: