1005 4
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Brent_Hayes
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

what is the simplest way to convert a text field which is the three letter month '-'two letter year (Dec-02, May-18, etc) to a usable date field of the same format. The day of the month isn’t important, could be set to 01.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Jeremy_Oglesby
14 - Jupiter
14 - Jupiter

You can use the DATETIME_PARSE() function for this:

CleanShot 2020-08-17 at 09.27.48

and pass it the proper format specifier

Your case would look like this:

DATETIME_PARSE({Your Text Date Field}, 'MMM-YY')

See Solution in Thread

5 Replies 5
Jeremy_Oglesby
14 - Jupiter
14 - Jupiter

You can use the DATETIME_PARSE() function for this:

CleanShot 2020-08-17 at 09.27.48

and pass it the proper format specifier

Your case would look like this:

Thank you. I’m new to Airtable. How do i now convert this formula field to an actual date? In the Excel world i would simply Copy and then Paste Values.

The formula field itself can be formatted as a “Date” field. If you click the dropdown menu for the field and select “Customize field type”:
CleanShot 2020-08-18 at 09.05.10

And then select the “Formatting” tab, you’ll see that it should be already formatted as a Date field:
CleanShot 2020-08-18 at 09.06.32

If that doesn’t answer your question (and I have a feeling it doesn’t), then I’m not sure I understand what you are asking.

Thank you for your patience.
What i’m trying to do is take the current single line text field MMM-YY.
Convert it to it’s date field equivalent so i can do sorts and filters and date calculations.
Be able to enter manually enter or choose a new date in the same field.
Then have the date field still display the format MMM-YY as a date type field.