384 7
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JustinTracey
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi everyone, I am new to the Airtable and I'm excited to be part of this community. May I apologise in advance if I don't use the correct technical terminology.  I design surveys, impact assessments and evaluation tools for a criminal justice charity. 

I have created a survey using 'Forms' and in one section I have 10 questions that require word responses. For example one of my questions is 'When I am confronted with a problem i can usually find a solution'

The multiple choice response can be 'Not at all true' [=1]. Barely true [=2]. Moderately True [=3]. Exactly True [=4]

I need to create a formula for a separate column that will tally up all the numerical values and give me the overall score. 

Any advice on how I write this formula will be greatly appreciated. 

Cheers Justin  

3 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
Sistema_Aotearo
8 - Airtable Astronomer
8 - Airtable Astronomer

You're looking for a "Switch" formula.

SWITCH(
{Field Name},
"Not at all true", "1",
"Barely true", "2",
"Moderately True", "3",
"Exactly True", "4"
)
  Is this what you're looking for?

See Solution in Thread

Adding on to Sistema's solution, after you create one of these formula fields with a SWITCH per answer field you have, you'll create a final formula field to sum them all up that looks something like:

SUM({Field 1}, {Field 2}), {Field 3})

See Solution in Thread

ScottWorld
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto

@JustinTracey 

Very similar to a spreadsheet, you would just add up number fields like this:

{Field 1} + {Field 2} + {Field 3} + {Field 4}

You can learn more about Airtable's formulas in this Airtable support article on formulas:

https://support.airtable.com//docs/formula-field-reference

See Solution in Thread

7 Replies 7
Sistema_Aotearo
8 - Airtable Astronomer
8 - Airtable Astronomer

You're looking for a "Switch" formula.

SWITCH(
{Field Name},