cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
John_Savidge
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi,

I am fairly new to Airtable and couldn’t find a solution to this here!

I have a formula that does a division calulation using the output from a formula field and a linked field value.

Here is my setup, I am getting #ERROR! in my calculation field.

Here is my formula

I have tried various combinations of using the VALUE() function but I can’t get it to work.

Thanks in advance.
John

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
augmented
10 - Mercury
10 - Mercury

Hi John. While we wait for someone, who knows more than I, to give you the right answer, why don’t you try changing your numerator to

VALUE({Invoice Value}&'')

There is no space between the single quotes. This will make sure the VALUE function gets a string.

See Solution in Thread

8 Replies 8
augmented
10 - Mercury
10 - Mercury

Hi John. While we wait for someone, who knows more than I, to give you the right answer, why don’t you try changing your numerator to

VALUE({Invoice Value}&'')

There is no space between the single quotes. This will make sure the VALUE function gets a string.

John_Savidge

Thank you so much, that worked!

Welcome to the Airtable community!

Thanks for the screen shots. There is a lot of information in them.

Your {Exchange Rate} field is a formula field that is returning a text string. That is why you needed to use VALUE() around the {Exchange Rage} in your {GBP Invoice Value} formula. I recommend revisiting the formula for {Exchange Rate} so that it returns a number instead of a text string.