cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Maia_Africa
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hello everyone,

I order to properly store geographic coordinates in Airtable, I need to create a formula to transform a field like “Address: Province: Country: Longitude: -1.4934866Latitude: 12.3614676”
into “12.3614676, -1.4934866”

I have tried a few formulas but I systematically failed.
Anyone could give an hand on this please? I would really appreaciate.
Warm regards from Burkina Faso

Franck

9 Replies 9
Pete
7 - App Architect
7 - App Architect

Hey Franck – this is probably a bit beyond what’s possible with Airtable’s formula field. You might be able to do something along these lines with Airtable’s newly-launched scripting block (Airtable.com/scripting), though writing such a script is a bit beyond the scope of support we’re able to offer here on the forum.

Maia_Africa

Thank you @Pete for the advice. I am not an expert, but I’ll try to dig into the scripting block.
Have a great day!

Franck

The only practical approach is with script. Even in Script Block you be unable to achieve this (natively) because you need the geo-location resources and the only way to do that is to call out to a service for this data.

We’ve built a number location-sciences integrations with Airtable using both API services (automated) and Script Blocks (which require manual invocation). Overall, our clients insist on automated solutions that simply watch for records lacking lat/lng data and our processes automatically add the properly lat/lng values in the background.

Hello Bill, thanks for the comment. To give more background, I am collecting the string "Address: Province: Country: Longitude: -1.4934866Latitude: 12.3614676” from a Jotform form fetching the Long/Lat coordinates from the form user. Once the info is collected, I push it to Airtable. But as you can see, it doesn’t appear in an exploitable format.