570 1
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ccreamer11
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Greetings! I am pretty new to Airtable, so forgive me if this is a silly question: For reference, I am maintaining a book of business for an insurance office. This office manages multiple lines of business (home, auto, life, business, etc... which are a single select field in my table).  I am trying to create a column that displays the "next renewal", based on the field "inception date".  Here is what I have so far:

IF(
  DATETIME_FORMAT({Inception Date}, "MMDD") > DATETIME_FORMAT(TODAY(), "MMDD"),
  DATETIME_PARSE(
    DAY({Inception Date}) & "-" & 
    MONTH({Inception Date}) & "-" &
    YEAR(TODAY()),
    "D-M-YYYY"
  ),
  DATETIME_PARSE(
    DAY({Inception Date}) & "-" & 
    MONTH({Inception Date}) & "-" &
    (YEAR(TODAY()) + 1),
    "D-M-YYYY"
  )
)

this works great for displaying the renewal date for all lines that are a 12 month term. What can I add to only add 6 months to the date if the {line} field is "auto"? basically I want to add a year to all lines except auto, then only add 6 months... is it a switch command? I've been stuck on this all day..Please help!

4 Replies 4
Brian_Swanson
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

@ccreamer11  You might want to try something like this.  I am not certain why you are using DATETIME_PARSE as it woudl seem you have formated the field to be a date given that you are using the DATETIME_FORMAT in the first line.  

IF({Inception Date}>TODAY(),
  DATETIME_FORMAT({Inception Date}, 'D-M-YYYY'),
IF({Line}="Auto",
  DATETIME_FORMAT(
     DATEADD({Inception Date}, 6, 'M'), 'D-M-YYYY'),
  DATETIME_FORMAT(
     DATEADD({Inception Date}, 1, 'y'), 'D-M-YYYY')
))

Hope this helps